Family Reunion

A few days ago I was reunited with all the faces of my past.  Faces of my childhood, my adolescence, those who help me to form the person I am today.  Immediate family, aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews, a niece.  It was bittersweet.  I was able to joke, laugh, discuss my future plans, and help them understand the venture at hand.  I received a mix of reactions and emotions.  Some family were supportive and envious of the “jump” we were taking.  Some were worried and scared for the risks we are undertaking with a family.  Others, like my immediately family, were sad regarding the fact they would not see us for the next two years.  It was hard to explain such a leap of faith to loved ones.  All of this weighs heavy on my heart. Nevertheless, I look forward with a positive perspective at the opportunities I will face that can open my world perspective and enrich my life altogether.

Leave a Reply

