Love is Evident

Today I was able to gather with some of my closest family.  My father, mother, sister, niece, nephews and children were all together at my childhood home to spend some quality time together before this move.  We were able to talk about our past, discuss our futures, laugh with my children, and overall appreciate each others company.  I appreciate these people so much in ways I probably never express enough to do justice.  The love they exude is immense and always evident.  Conversations over lunch provided the needed levity and comfort I was craving.  I am going to miss these people while I am gone.  I know people do this all the time.. moving somewhere far..  whether for the military, work, or pleasure.  Still, it isn’t an easy feat to swallow.  My day today was a mix of emotions also because I had to part with my dog of 8 years, something I knew would happen yet I still never felt prepared for.  My dog’s name is Mickey, a 110 lb American Bulldog.  We wanted to bring him along but felt it nearly impossible due to the cost of transferring him and the unneeded stress from the travel as well as the quarantine period he would endure upon arrival in Thailand.  He is luckily with one of my closest friends of nearly 20 years and I know he will be loved as he was at home.  I thought I had a heart of stone regarding this but still found myself unable to resist crying upon walking away from his new home.  These decisions weigh heavy on me.  What I have taken from today is that love is such a diverse feeling that brings about such a manic array of emotion.

Leave a Reply

